Changing your mind


Over the weekend, I finished Michael Pollan’s new book: How to change your mind. Given his popularity and the thirst of the elite to 1) better themselves either from a personal development or performance enhancement way 2) heal themselves of anxiety / depression, I am expecting that psychedelics will be fully legalised in some states within the US at least for medical treatment within the next few years. There’s already significant anecdotal evidence that micro-dosing is rising especially within the tech sector.

Australia will take some time to follow given that any movement on cannabis de-criminalisation seems to have gone backward, I doubt that there’ll be much movement on psychedelics.

The primary interesting bit of information I got from the book was that meditation seems to have a similar (if lesser) effect as the guided therapeutic use of psychedelics. Towards the end of the book, Michael Pollan’s comparison with Buddhist practices and philosophies increase. I especially found the descriptions of the default mode network‘s functions to be useful. I’d not heard about it before but it fits very well with my own experiences as a meditator and it makes sense.

The second bit that I found interesting was that every guided meditation psychedelic journey the author experienced had music. Given how important music is to me and how critical I can be, I can’t imagine ever wanting someone else to dictate my play-list at the best of times – much less when I am under the influence.