My new smartphone


I like to think I’m an early adopter who is not quite on the bleeding edge but certainly knows about it and waits a little for it to settle before buying it.

So I got my first smartphone, the O2 atom PDA phone in August 2006 a little over two years after I’d first decided that this was the way to go. I even posted about it. It ran Windows Mobile and had minimal GPRS connectivity. But it did almost everything a smartphone does these days: surf the web, take photos, get emails, tweet, provide a handy ebook reader, etc. I even wrote a number of chapters of a novel on it while travelling using an infra-red portable keyboard. In short, it did everything an iPhone could do, two years before the first iPhone was released.

Eventually, I jumped ship with the rest of the world to an iPhone 3Gs (which is still going strong and used by my wife) and from that to an Android based Samsung Galaxy S2 which is now nearly 3 years old and custom-ROMed. The latter could be why it finally hit enough media problems last weekend to get caught in a boot-loop.

I could re-flash the thing but it’s a good excuse time for a new phone.

It’s a Nokia and looks a little like this: 

It has three primary functions plus one extra feature: it’s a phone, it sends SMS and it has an actual flashlight. It does all of these things superbly – far better than any of the smartphones I have owned. The extra feature is that it is has a battery that lasts a week or more.

Now before I am accused of being a hipster, I’d like to point out that I’ve also got a Nexus 7 tablet, a half-way decent smallish digital camera and a portable mp3 player. Each device (barring the mp3 player which I intend to replace) performs its functions far better than a smartphone does and each device lasts the distance battery wise.

If you have a tablet with data connectivity that you carry around everywhere anyway, do yourself a favour: dust off your old dumb-phone.

 

 

4 thoughts on “My new smartphone

  1. Damo-D says:

    Does it come in purple?

  2. […] attempting a home check-in policy here (which failed) and also about reverting to a dumb-phone here (which has been far more successful).  Given the prevalence of smartphones and observing their […]

  3. […] my smartphone died almost two years ago, I decided to revert to an old dumb Nokia and haven’t looked back. Now, […]

Leave a Reply

