Device addiction


I admit it, I’m addicted to my smartphone.

The impulse to pick it up and check for emails, look through my rss feeds, check out facebook, fact-check some random thing or put a bit more time into a game has pretty much taken over most of my waking life. It’s not too bad at work as I have stuff to do but any free time in between is spent looking at some square inches of LCD.

There has to be much more to life than this – after all seven or so years ago (I was an early adopter), I didn’t have a smartphone.

So, in an effort to at least reclaim some of my life in my own home, I’ve instituted a check-in policy.

As soon as I walk through the door, I plug my phone into the mains in the front room (which also happens to be the study). The study is also where the other devices live (namely my laptop). I have pledged to only use my phone and any other device only in the study. Now, this wouldnt make much sense to most people who actually use their study but I really don’t use it – it’s a dark, cold and noisy room.

This is a good thing.

I have had to purchase a replacement device however to act as my alarm clock. So now, I have a DAB clock radio on my bedside table.

The next step is while commuting whether walking, on public transport or being driven around (unless utilising its navigation functions).

Tagged ,

One thought on “Device addiction

  1. […] has been an ongoing struggle for me. I’ve posted about attempting a home check-in policy here (which failed) and also about reverting to a dumb-phone here (which has been far more […]

Leave a Reply

