Hiatus


It’s been nearly two months since my last entry and there was a bit of a gap before that one too. Hopefully, now that I have a laptop (IBM R60 – pretty much as minimal featured as you can get) with a 3g USB modem (Telstra) and a 5 GB quota per month, I wont be as lax. Also, i seem to now have passed through my latest period of turbulence.

Anyway, I’m writing this in Melbourne having spent the last three weeks up in Darwin. I’m in town for a week and then I’ll be back up in Darwin again for the next three to four weeks, depending on the amount of work. Regardless, I’ll be in Melbourne for Easter – perhaps Confest although I have not decided that yet.

The three weeks in Darwin / one week in Melbourne rotation is going to be pretty much how i live for the next six months – the length of my contract. So far the work has been challenging and interesting. While in Darwin, I’ve been putting in 10 hour days, 6 days a week and the time has passed easily and quickly.

The same cant be said of my after work life however. I hardly know anybody in Darwin anymore and having around 4 hours after work before it is time to sleep doesnt really make for much opportunity to know more people – especially since I’m fitting in shopping, cooking, cleaning up and exercise into the equation.

But that also goes to show where my priorities lie – cooking my own meal is as essential to my wellbeing as exercising. The ritual of shopping and preparing food relaxes and centres me in a way that is almost meditative. And since I’m not drinking or smoking or meeting anyone, my life in Darwin is almost monastic. Long days of work, a swim in an empty lap pool or a stint in the tiny windowless (and usually empty) hotel gym before cooking something simple while looking at the monsoonal thunderclouds roll in over the bay.

Doing all of this while living in an airconditioned apartment on the 26th floor of one of only two buildings having more than 10 stories only emphasises my distance from the town and the life within it. But there’s a part of me that finds a certain calmness and comfort in this.

In any case, it helps the three weeks pass quickly.

Leave a Reply

