Year’s end, new beginnings


Melbourne in the last month has swallowed me up. I’ve been spending time seeing friends, going to festivals and figuring out what to do with my life. This has involved making large changes, the most major one of which is my decision to end my relationship with SG.

I wont go into it beyond this brief note. It’s still too early for me to reflect so publicly on it. But it needs to be mentioned because without doing so, I cant keep writing in this blog which over the last two years has contained so many references to her. I’ve been able to maintain a close friendship with all of my exs and I intend to put as much effort in a friendship with SG as I am able to. But it is still early and so we will see how it turns out.

The future is pretty certain here in Melbourne. Needless to say, I will not be moving to Perth now but I have accepted a 6 month contract for a job that will take me out of town for at least half the time next year starting in February. I have at least decided that I will try to work as a contractor from now on and attempt to work 8-10 months a year, spending the rest of the time on myself – either travelling overseas or doing other stuff at home.

The falling interest rates have certainly helped my mortgage repayments and the new tenants are now covering all of the costs. My living standards are low enough that I’m still effectively living like a student or a backpacker – out of a small backpack with all of my stuff in storage. In some ways, that feels transient but mostly it feels like a commitment to keep moving and not to be stuck in the same rut that I was in before I left.

For that at the very least, I have SG to thank for.

2 thoughts on “Year’s end, new beginnings

  1. n.t says:

    for some reason, i just can’t help but sigh. i hope 2009 bears some of the fruit you’ve been waiting for.

  2. […] themes of this theme-less blog. To a certain degree, my search for meaning has popped up every now and then. How could it not? But I don’t think I’ve ever really called it out so directly […]

Leave a Reply

