Slowly landing in Melbourne


Basking in spring sunshine, Melbourne feels quiet and small with little traffic and less people in its streets. Or at least in North Carlton, the inner city suburb of Melbourne I am temporarily staying in. I dont remember Melbourne being like this but then I dont remember Melbourne being so strangely unfamiliar either, like putting on a pair of old jeans and finding it a size smaller than it should be, like one’s bedroom half-seen during a night’s restless sleep.

I dont want to stay but I dont want to go either. I dont want to return to the life i had before i left but it’s the only life i know in Melbourne and I’ve realised that even if I want to go back to it, I cant. I could make a life that is very similar to what I had however, if I choose to.

The question is, do I choose to and if not, then what else is there.

Leave a Reply

