Yoga in Rishikesh


I havent really been practicing yoga all that long, maybe a year or so. And I have in common with many beginners, tight hamstrings, tight hips and a weak back. While I was in Melbourne, these things were getting better but six months on the road along with little exercise has pushed me back to square one.

So, one of my goals in Rishikesh was to go to some yoga classes and attempt to get fit again. I tried out around five different classes before I found Surinder Singh’s yoga class at the Raj Palace hotel from 5:30 to 7:30 pm, seven days a week. Before his class, I wasnt really sure why people would come to Rishikesh and stay for a couple of months just to do yoga. Sure, the ones I went to were good but not much better than what I’ve been to in Australia.

After finding Surinder’s class, I’m regretting that I dont have more time is Rishikesh and that I didnt find his class earlier. After seven days of going to his class nearly every day, I feel that I’ve learnt more than I have in a long time. But more than that, I’m inspired again to amalgamate my meditation and yoga practice.

I also like his teaching style and attention to detail. The focus he has on his students is incredible and he clearly tailors his classes to suit his students, focusing on different areas based on who is there and what he ses. I went for seven days in a row and it was different each time with focus on a different part of my body. I’m pretty stiff now and am taking a break but I have one more day to go to tomorrow.

Anyway, I’d highly recommend his class to anyone who is in Rishikesh or intending to visit.

Leave a Reply

