Three weeks left of work



SG climbing

Originally uploaded by jonckher

With only three weeks of work to go and four weeks or so in Melbourne, the amount of stuff that needs to be done at home feels insurmountable. The problem at work is not that of time but of motivation – I dont actually have that much to finish up but much of what I’m working on is almost contrary to what I’ve been working on the year before.

The work at home, on the other hand, has the reverse problem, I have the motivation but not the time. With the working bee, we got a lot done the last weekend and a lot of money is going to be spent the next few weeks but there’s still a fair amount of painting and furniture shifting to do. And of course, there’s going to be inevitable stuff ups and sudden scope creeps.

For example, the very expensive IKEA kitchen bench I bought on Sunday for the kitchen is going to take a lot more assembling than I expected. SG has convinced me that the whole of the outside of the house needs to be painted. Of course, she’ll end up doing most of it but I’ll likely have to jump in to help.

In my calmer and more rational moments, I know it will all get done but often, it feels undoable. It’s just as well I’ve started meditating in the mornings again.

One thought on “Three weeks left of work

Leave a Reply

