coming together, being apart


I spent the weekend renovating, primarily scraping and sanding weatherboard, although i didnt get as much done as i would have liked to on Sunday. I had had a late one on Saturday night having gone to see Cornerstone Roots at the Espy plus i had some relationship repairing to do with SG as well. Being stressed and burnt out doesnt really bring out the best in me. I tend to withdraw on every level and am as much fun to be around as a block of wood (although arguably the block of wood could at least emit serene wooden vibes).

People who know me dont tend to see this side very much. I reserve that for my partner in that I can usually leave my friends if I feel my mood shift (which I did on Friday night pleading exhaustion) whereas I cannot avoid ignoring my partner especially when we live together.

SG, having had enough, suggested that we spent a bit more time seperately (or at least as much as one can be while living together). A week of moping by myself reading Steven Brust and Gene Wolfe and it has worked up to point. Spending Sunday afternoon and evening together brought us back together somewhat. I’m not sure how the next few weeks before we leave will go however.

We have both enjoyed being a bit more independent. There’s a part of me that knows when we leave that we’ll be spending a lot of time together and so there isnt a lot of time left for solitary reflection. We can always travel seperately for a little while if we want to – there is that option. But it is not one that attracts me.

I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

