HART and heart


I finally got my motorcycle learner’s permit yesterday through HART – something i’ve been talking about for years but never did anything about until SG simply booked the two of us in.

It was a two day course and tought very professionally with the additional bonus that being a one stop shop, all you had to do was pay your money, do the training and get tested without having to interact with Vicroads at all. And it was very good value for money too – $270 for the weekend. I have no complaints and would recommend them to anyone who wants to learn how to ride with minimal fuss and maximum safety.

Anyway, now that I have a permit, maybe it’s a sign of my age and a heightened awareness of mortality but while I really enjoyed riding a motorbike and had a lot of encouraging feedback from the trainers, I’m in no rush to go riding around in Melbourne. Part of this is because I’m still not that confident on the machine. Being a bicycle rider, the weight of the motorbike (at a light 140kg) is intimidating and while there’s something really cool about coasting around with very little effort, I feel exposed in a way that I dont on a bicycle.

However, if I want to travel overseas with a bike licence, I’m going to have to at least practice a bit in order to sit my full licence practical test in three months time.

In other news, I went to the doctor today and got my heart results. As I expected, there’s no problems. The stress test went fine, the echocardiogram revealed a very healthy heart and the holter monitor could detect no anomalies. The doctor said that she wished she had more results like that. So where to now? Hard to say as I still get AF occurences when I’m exhausted and dehydrated but it could just be a matter of managing that as they occur and getting regular checkups. She kindly gave me the results though so I can always send them to another doctor for a second opinion.

Leave a Reply

