dreams dont have to stand for something


the other night, i dreamt that i was looking after two children. one was four and the other six. they could have been mine. i certainly felt enough affection for them. i was telling off the older child because she had upset her younger sibling for no apparent reason.
“why did you do that?” i asked, “you wouldn’t like it if you were playing quietly and someone came and hassled you, would you?”
she shook her head tearfully. i was holding both of them. the younger one had stopped crying but the older one was clinging hard. i felt a huge surge of love for both of them.
at that point, i woke and thought about how banal that dream had been, how that little bit of conflict would be carried out many times in any parent’s week. i thought about how easy and natural it had felt to mind those children’s small worlds and how confident i was in that dream about my ability to look after them and to make the right decisions. most of all, i thought about how good it had felt to be holding them and to be held.

One thought on “dreams dont have to stand for something

  1. Sylvan says:

    Hey Tien,
    That sounds like a pretty powerfully suggestive dream to me – particularly because of your emotional response and how you approached the situation.
    Of course dreams don’t have to mean anything, but I would say that’s about as unsubtle as your subconscious will get in saying to your conscious mind “Tien, you will find being a parent to be rewarding and you will be comfortable in your role as a parent.”
    At least that’s what immediately struck me when I read your post. Of course, maybe I’m just projecting here…

    I must say that I agree with your subconscious on those points – I think you’ll be a great father. I think you have a lot of love and intelligent guidance to offer a child.

    I rarely remember my dreams these days. I wish I did.

    Love,
    S.

Leave a Reply

